Court issues arrest warrants for Ata Tarar, 11 other PML-N leaders

A judicial magistrate Friday issued the arrest warrants for a dozen PML-N leaders, including prime minister’s special assistant Ata Tarar, in relation to a ruckus created at the Punjab Assembly.

A case was registered against the PML-N leaders over the ruckus which took place in April during the chief minister’s election — when Hamza Shahbaz was elected to the top office.

During today’s hearing, police station Qila Gujjar’s investigation officer appeared before Judicial Magistrate Muhammad Mudassir Hayat, where he sought the issuance of arrest warrants for the PML-N leaders.

The police officer told the judge that despite a case being registered against them, the PML-N leaders have knowingly refused to show up for the investigation.

The judge then approved the arrest warrants of the politicians.

Arrest warrants have been issued for Tarar, Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan, Awais Leghari, Muhammad Mirza Javed, Malik Saif ul Malook Khokhar, Peer Khizer Hayat Shah Khagga, Raja Sagheer Ahmed, Mian Abdul Rauf, Pir Muhammad Ashraf Rasool, Bilal Farooq Tarar, and Rana Mannan Khan.