PP-7 by-election result challenged by PTI

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Monday challenged the result of PP-7 Rawalpindi result in the by-elections. PTI submitted an application to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for the recounting of votes. In this constituency, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Raja Sagheer Ahmad secured victory by obtaining 68,906 votes while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Col M Shabbir Awan bagged 68-857 votes to remain second.

Sagheer Ahmed defeated PTI’s candidate Shabir Awan with a very close margin of 49 votes. It is pertinent to mention here that according to the unofficial results, the former PM-led PTI bagged 15 seats, while PML-N could only secure four seats. After sweeping 15 seats in the Punjab by-elections on Sunday, PTI now has 178 seats in the provincial assembly.