MQM-P won NA-240 seat; unofficial results

KARACHI – Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) won the National Assembly constituency NA-240 by-election on Thursday.

According to unofficial results, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan candidate Muhammad Abu Bakr won the NA-240 by-election by securing 10,683 votes.

Shahzada Shahbaz of Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP) remained second by obtaining 10,618 votes while Rafiufdin Faisal of Muhajir Qoumi Movement secured third position with 8,383 votes.

There are 529,853 registered voters in the constituency. The number of female voters in the constituency is 235,470 while the number of male voters is 294,385.

The National Assembly seat comprising Landhi and Korangi area of District Korangi in Karachi had fallen vacant after the death of the MQM-P MNA Deputy Iqbal Muhammad on April 19.

The ECP had declared 203 polling stations in the constituency ‘very sensitive’ out of 309 polling stations while the remaining 106 polling stations have been declared ‘sensitive